PUC Home Page
Nelson Memorial Library
2014 Summer School Hours (PST) -- Jun 16 (Mon) - Aug 13 (Wed)
Mon-Thu 8am-8pm, Fri 8am-2pm, Sat closed, Sun 3pm-8pm
WebMail D2L Lantern Search
Books & Media Databases Reference Adventist Resources Services & Info Search Engines Help

 
Help Home

Books & Media
Databases
Reference
SDA Resources
Local Resources
Services & Info
Search Engines
Off-Campus Access
Library Catalog


Display by Topic

Academic Search Engines for Periodical, Newspaper, Books & Reference Collections


General Purpose Collections

Reference Collections

Newspaper Collections


Click on the Information bttnbutton for information
about a database.

History Resources
 

Search Tool

Description

Info

Full Text

 

Biblical Archaeology Society Online Archive

Search the full-text of the publications from the Biblical Archaeology Society, namely periodicals and books about ancient Israel and other lands and peoples mentioned in the Bible.

   
 

Biography in Context

Biographies of over one million people

Information Full text available
 

BrillOnline - Cold War Intelligence, 1945-1991

This collection of 2,360 formerly classified U.S. government documents (most of them classified Top Secret or higher) provides readers for the first time with the declassified documentary record about the successes and failures of the U.S. intelligence community in its efforts to spy on the Soviet Union during the Cold War.

Information Full text available
 

BrillOnline - US Intelligence on the Middle East, 1945-2009

This comprehensive document set sheds light on the U.S. intelligence community's spying and analytic efforts in the Arab world, including the Middle East, the Near East, and North Africa. It covers the time period from the end of World War II to the present day, up until the 2002-2003 Iraqi Weapons of Mass Destruction (WMD) assessments, the Global War on Terror, the Iraq War, and Iran's nuclear program.

Information Full text available
 

Dissertations and Theses

Proquest Dissertations and Theses offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works from around the world from 1861 to the present day.

Information Full text available
 

Encyclopaedia Britannica

A scholarly encyclopedia.

Information
Full text available
 

GaleNet, product list

Biography Resource Center, Literature Resource Center, Health & Wellness Resource Center, and Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center.

  Full text available
 

JSTOR

Multidiscipline archive of scholarly journals.

Information Full text available
 

Literary Reference Center

Full text literary database. Contains information on thousands of authors and their works.

Information Full text available
 

Literature Resource Center

Critical analyses , biographies, and bibliographies of more than 120,000 authors.

Information
Full text available
 

Reader Guide Retrospective

Index Coverage dates: 1890 1982. Subjects: Aeronautics, African-Americans, Aging, Archeology, Astronomy, Automobiles, Biographies, Business, Children, Education, Environment, Fashion, Film, Fine Arts, Food, Foreign Affairs, Gardening, Health, History, Hobbies, Home, Journalism, Leisure Activities, Literature, Medicine, Music, News, Nutrition, Photography, Politics, Popular Culture, Radio, Religion, Science, Sports, Technology, Television, Travel.

Information
 

Salem Press-Current Interest

Free Salem Reference articles of current interest. Currently includes articles on Nuclear Power, and Osama bin Laden and the War on Terror

Information
Full text available
 

Salem Press History

History Encyclopedias - Salem History is a robust online database that includes the complete content of printed reference sets.

Click on subsections below to search:


--Decades: 40s, 50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s


--Great Events From History: Ancient World, Middle Ages, Renaissance, 17th Century, 18th Century, 19th Century, 1901-1940, 1941-1970, 1971-2000

Information
Full text available
   
   
 

History 101

Readings for History 101 class.

   
 

History 102

Readings for History 102 class.

   
Online Journals by Title
 

History & Archaeology

Online journal titles with subject headings in History & Archaeology.

   
 

Journal Titles A-Z

Complete list of online journal title subscriptions from all database vendors PUC currently contracts with.