PUC Home Page WebMail D2L Lantern Search
Books & Media Databases Reference Adventist Resources Services & Info Search Engines Help
 

 
General Databases

Looking for full-text journal articles in a multi-discipline dabase?

Looking for a general database to search?

Want to search multiple databases simultaneously?

Click on the Information button for information about a database.

List of General Databases

 

Database

Description

Info

Full Text

 

Academic Search Premier

Provides full text for nearly 3,300 scholarly publications covering most academic areas of study.

  Full text available
 

ArticleFirst

OCLC index of articles from the contents pages of journals.

Information Full text available
 

Biography Resource Center

Biographies of over one million people.

   
 

Books in Print

In-print, out-of-print, and forthcoming books, audios and videos. Includes over 4.7 million titles, more than 600,000 full-text reviews, and about 7,000 author biographies.

 
 

Consumer Index

Index of articles providing consumer information.

Information Full text available
 

Contemporary Women's Issues

Global information on women from fields such as sociology, psychology, health, education, and human rights.

Information Full text available
 

Dissertation Abstracts Online

Dissertations and theses from institutions in the North America and Europe.

Information  
 

Encyclopaedia Britannica

A scholarly encyclopedia.

   
 

FactSearch

Facts and statistics on topics of current interest.

Information Full text available
 

GPO monthly catalog

U.S. government publications.

Information  
 

Lexis-Nexis

Databank including full-text newspapers, business news & data, extensive legal resources, medical information and general reference sources.

Information Full text available
 

Newspaper Abstracts

Significant items from over 50 U.S. national and regional newspapers.

Information  
 

Occupational Outlook Handbook

Describes training and education needed, earnings and job prospects.

   
 

OmniFile Full Text Select

Full text articles in science, humanities, education and business.

Information Full text available
 

Opposing ViewPoints Resource Center

Provides access to articles and documents on opposing or divergent views on major social issues.

Information Full text available
 

Oxford English Dictionary

Dictionary and history of the English language.

   
 

Oxford Reference Online

Collection of 143 language and subject reference works combined into a single cross-searchable resource.

Information Full text available
 

PapersFirst®

OCLC index of papers presented at conferences worldwide.

Information  
 

Periodical Abstracts

Periodical abstracts from general and academic journals.

Information Full text available
 

ProceedingsFirst®

An OCLC index of worldwide conference proceedings.

Information  
 

ProQuest Newspaper Abstracts

Abstracts and indexing for the New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal.

   
 

ProQuest Research Library

Interdisciplinary database including close to 2000 journals in full-text format.

Information Full text available
 

World Almanac

A collection of facts and statistics.

Information  
 

WorldCat®

OCLC catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide.

Information  


Copyright © 1995-2005, Pacific Union College
Call Toll Free: 800-862-7080
enroll@puc.edu