PUC Home Page
Nelson Memorial Library
2014-15 Regular School Hours (PST) -- Sep 22 (Mon) - Jun 10 (Wed)
Mon-Thu 8am-12 midnight, Fri 8am-2pm, Sat closed, Sun 10am-12 midnight
WebMail D2L Lantern Search
Books & Media Databases Reference Adventist Resources Services & Info Search Engines Help

 
Help Home

Books & Media
Databases
Reference
SDA Resources
Local Resources
Services & Info
Search Engines
Off-Campus Access
Library Catalog


Display by Topic

Academic Search Engines for Periodical, Newspaper, Books & Reference Collections


General Purpose Collections

Reference Collections

Newspaper Collections


Click on the Information bttnbutton for information
about a database.

Book and eBook Resources
 

Search Tool

Description

Info

Full Text

 

PUC Library Catalog

The physical collection of the PUC library consists of approx 152,000 books, 578 journal titles, 2,500 videos (VHS & DVD), 980 music CD's.

Information  
 

Link+

Consortium of about 50 public and academic libraries in CA/NV who share their collection of about 4 million unique titles. Takes 3-4 days for a requested item to arrive.

Information  
 

WorldCat®

OCLC catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide

Information  
 

ebrary

ebrary currently hosts 601,786 e-Books with 10,974 added in the past 30 days. More than 500 of the world’s most authoritative publishers distribute e-books on the ebrary platform.

Information Full text available
 

Open Library

Open Library is a project of the non-profit Internet Archive, and has been funded in part by a grant from the California State Library and the Kahle/Austin Foundation. To date, we have gathered over 20 million records from a variety of large catalogs as well as single contributions, with more on the way.

Information Full text available
 

OCLC eBooks

All online eBooks cataloged by OCLC members, including all subjects and available through libraries worldwide.

Information  
 

Library of American Civilization

The Library of American Civilization (LAC) is a collection of 4,500 titles focused on all aspects of American life and literature from their beginnings to the outbreak of World War I. It includes books, pamphlets, periodicals and documents, many of which are out of print.

Information Full text available
 

Hathi Trust

As a digital repository for the nation’s great research libraries, HathiTrust brings together the immense collections of partner institutions. Currently Digitized 6,149,420 volumes.

Information Full text available
 

Online Books Page

Listing over 35,000 free books on the Web. Hosted by University of Pennsylvannia

Information Full text available
 

Ellen G. White Writings

Search or read all published writings of Ellen G. White including books, articles, compilations and manuscripts.

Information Full text available
 

Google Books

If the book is out of copyright, or the publisher has given permission, you'll be able to see a preview of the book, and in some cases the entire text. If it's in the public domain, you're free to download a PDF copy.

Information Full text available
 

JustFreeBooks

A search engine for free books in digital format. It searches more than 700 web sites, including gutenberg.org , wikibooks.org and archive.org . It can be used to find public domain texts, open books, free audio books, and more.

Information Full text available
 

NetlLibrary

NetLibrary provides access to the PUC's Library eContent collection. These are the books available online and in digital format. This is a small collection, but it is available 24 hours a days, seven days a week. In the future, it will be integrated into our online catalog.

Information Full text available
 

Springer eBooks

Springer has over 27,000 eBooks in their collection. You can download the PDF for offline viewing or read online.

Information Full text available
 

EBSCO eBook Collection

Approx 7300 eBooks available to read online or to download to a portable reading device.

Information Full text available
Electronic Journals by Title
 

Journals About Books

Online journal titles about books and the book industry.

   
 

Journal Titles A-Z

Complete list of online journal title subscriptions from all database vendors PUC currently contracts with.