PUC Home Page WebMail D2L Lantern Search
Books & Media Databases Reference Adventist Resources Services & Info Search Engines Help
 

 
Academic Search Engines in Alphabetical Order

Search ALL SOURCES Simultaneously

Looking for a general academic search engine?

Want to search multiple search engines simultaneously?

Click on the Information button for information about a database.

 

Search Tool

Description

Info

Full Text

 

ABI/Inform Dateline

Access to local and regional business publications

Information Full text available
 

ABI/Inform Global

Information on business, company profiles, computing, economics, and finance. Provides access to the full-text of many business perodicals including theWall Street Journal.

Information Full text available
 

ABI/Inform Trade & Industry

Access more than 750 business periodicals and newsletters with a trade or industry focus

Information Full text available
 

Academic Search Premier

Provides full text for nearly 3,300 scholarly publications covering most academic areas of study.

Information Full text available
 

AccessScience

AccessScience is the online version of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology, plus the Dictionary of Scientific & Technical Terms.

Information Full text available
 

AGRICOLA

Materials relating to all aspects of agriculture, forestry, and animal science

Information
 
 

Alternative Press Index

Indexes journals covering cultural, economic, political & social change

Information
 
 

American Chemical Society Journals

Access to the full-text of journals published by the American Chemical Society.

Information Full text available
 

ArticleFirst

OCLC index of articles from the contents pages of journals

Information  
 

Arts & Humanities Search

Arts and Humanities Citation Index

Information  
 

ATLA Religion Index

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials is the full text version of the ATLA Religion Database (ATLA). This database is a collection of major religion and theology journals selected by some of the major religion scholars in the United States. Coverage of this database dates back to 1949.

Information

Full text available

 

BasicBIOSIS

Basic information about biology and other life sciences

Information  
 

Biblical Archaeology Society Online Archive

Search the full-text of the publications from the Biblical Archaeology Society, namely periodicals and books about ancient Israel and other lands and peoples mentioned in the Bible.

   
 

Biography Resource Center

Biographies of over one million people

Information Full text available
 

Biology Digest

Life-science information written in a non-technical style

Information  
 

BioOne

Collection of full-text journals with focus on biological, ecological and environmental sciences.

Information Full text available
 

Books in Print

In-print, out-of-print, and forthcoming books, audios and videos. Includes over 4.7 million titles, more than 600,000 full-text reviews, and about 7,000 author biographies.

Information Full text available
 

Business Dateline

Regional information vital to businesses

Information  
 

Business & Industry®

Business and industry facts, figures, and key events

Information  
 

Business & Management Practices™

Practical aspects and approaches to business management

Information  
 

Business Organizations, Agencies & Publications Directory

Organizations that serve business and industry

Information  
 

Business Source Premier

Leading business research database providing full text for more than 2,300 journals

Information Full text available
 

CINAHL with Full Text

Full text access for more than 550 journals indexed in CINAHL.

Information Full text available
 

CLASEPERIODICA

Index of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities.

Information  
 

Classical Music Library

Collection of over 35,000 tracks of streaming music.

Information Full text available
 

CollegeSource Online

Over 20,000 college catalogs in complete cover-to-cover, original page format.

Information Full text available
 

Columbia Granger's Poetry Database. See Granger's Poetry Database

Index of poetry found in anthologies and in the collected works of individual poets. Includes nearly 50,000 poems in full text and more than 400,000 poem citations.

Information Full text available
 

Communication & Mass Media Complete

Specializes on communication, mass media, journalism, and speech. It incorporates the National Communication Association's CommSearch and Penn State's Mass Media Articles Index.

Information Full text available
 

Contemporary Women's Issues

Global information on women from fields such as sociology, psychology, health, education, and human rights.

Information  
 

Disclosure Corporate Snapshots (Brief Entries)

Directory information on companies publicly traded on U.S. exchanges.

Information Full text available
 

Dissertation Abstracts Online

Dissertations and theses from institutions in the North America and Europe.

Information  
 

ECO™

A collection of scholarly journals.

Information  
 

EconLit

Journals, books, and working papers on economics

Information Full text available
 

Education Full Text

Indexes and abstracts journal articles and some books on education. Provides access to the full-text of the articles.

Information Full text available
  Education Research Complete Leading online resource for education research Information Full text available
 

Electronic Books - OCLC

All online electronic books cataloged by OCLC members, including all subjects and available through libraries worldwide.

Information  
 

Ellen G. White Writings

Searchable published writings of Ellen G. White.

   
 

Encyclopaedia Britannica

A scholarly encyclopedia.

Information
Full text available
 

ERIC

Index to over 980 educational and education-related journals, as well as full text of more than 2,200 digests.

Information  
 

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Hundreds of reference books available online in full-text format.

Information
Full text available
 

GaleNet

Biography Resource Center, Literature Resource Center, Health & Wellness Resource Center, and Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center.

Full text available
 

GEOBASE

Worldwide literature on geography, geology, and ecology.

Information  
 

GPO monthly catalog

U.S. government publications.

Information  
 

Granger's Poetry Database (Columbia Granger's Poetry Database)

Index of poetry found in anthologies and in the collected works of individual poets. Includes nearly 50,000 poems in full text and more than 400,000 poem citations.

Information
Full text available
 

Health & Wellness Resource Center

Integrated access to medical, health, and wellness information.

Information Full text available
 

Health Source: Consumer Edition

Collection of consumer health information. Provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.

Information Full text available
 

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

Provides access to nearly 550 scholarly full text journals covering a variety of medical disciplines.

Information Full text available
 

JSTOR

Multidiscipline archive of scholarly journals.

Information Full text available
 

Lexis-Nexis Business Information

Thousands of business news sources and information on companies.

  Full text available
 

Lexis-Nexis General News

Access to thousands of newspapers and news sources.

  Full text available
 

Lexis-Nexis Legal Research

Multiple sources of legal information and law journals.

  Full text available
 

Lexis-Nexis Biographical Information

Information about people

  Full text available
 

Lexis-Nexis General Information

Miscellaneous reference sources including news, business and blogs

  Full text available
 

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)

Indexes more than 600 periodicals, books, research reports and proceedings in the area of librarianship and information science.

Information  
 

Literary Reference Center

Full text literary database. Contains information on thousands of authors and their works.

Information Full text available
 

Literature Resource Center

Critical analyses , biographies, and bibliographies of more than 120,000 authors.

Information
Full text available
 

MAS Ultra - School Edition

Designed specifically for high school libraries

  Full text available
 

MEDLINE

Index to all areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing

Information Full text available
 

MLA Directory of Periodicals

Information available on the journals and series indexed in the MLA International Bibliography.

Information
 
 

MLA International Bibliography

Indexes critical materials on literature, modern languages, linguistics and folklore.

Information  
 

Newspaper Abstracts

Significant items from over 50 U.S. national and regional newspapers.

Information  
 

Occupational Outlook Handbook

Describes training and education needed, earnings and job prospects.

  Full text available
 

Opposing ViewPoints Resource Center

Provides access to articles and documents on opposing or divergent views on major social issues.

Information Full text available
 

OmniFile Full Text Select

Full text articles in science, humanities, education and business.

Information Full text available
 

Oxford English Dictionary

Dictionary and history of the English language.

Information
Full text available
 

Oxford Reference Online

Collection of 143 language and subject reference works combined into a single cross-searchable resource.

Information Full text available
 

PapersFirst®

OCLC index of papers presented at conferences worldwide.

Information  
 

Periodical Abstracts

Periodical abstracts from general and academic journals.

Information  
 

Primary Search

Provides full text for nearly 70 popular, magazines for elementary school research.

  Full text available
 

ProceedingsFirst®

An OCLC index of worldwide conference proceedings.

Information
 
 

Proquest Newspapers

Abstracts and indexing for New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal.

Information
 
 

Proquest Nursing & Allied Health Source

Access to about 500 full-text titles in nursing and allied health.

Information Full text available
 

Proquest Religion

Collection of Religion journals available in full-text format.

Information Full text available
 

Proquest Research Library

Interdisciplinary database including close to 2000 journals.

Information Full text available
 

PsycARTICLES

This database provides full text articles on current issues in psychology from respected sources, spanning from 1988 to the present. PsycARTICLES includes more than 25,000 full-text articles from 42 journals published by American Psychological Association and allied organizations.

Information
Full text available
 

PsycFIRST®

OCLC database of psychology and related fields in the current and most recent three update years.

Information  
 

PsycINFO

Index to over 1700 journals, books and dissertations about psychology and related disciplines.

Information Full text available
 

PubMed

Index to all areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing.

Information  
 

SDA Obituary Index

Index to obituaries of Seventh-day Adventists.

   
 

SDA Periodical Index

Index to articles in Seventh-day Adventist publications on a variety of topics.

   
 

SIRS Researcher

Covers social, scientific, economic, and political issues worldwide.

Information  
 

Social Work Abstracts

Index to over 450 journals in social work and related disciplines.

Information  
 

World Almanac

A collection of facts and statistics.

Information  
 

WorldCat®

OCLC catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide

Information  
 

Worldscope

Basic financial information on public companies worldwide.

Information  


Copyright © 1995-2005, Pacific Union College
Call Toll Free: 800-862-7080
enroll@puc.edu