TOOLS TO FIND HIGH QUALITY SCIENTIFIC WEBSITES
FINDING HIGH QUALITY SCIENTIFIC WEBSITES
About.com is an online neighborhood of hundreds of helpful experts, eager to share their wealth of knowledge with visitors.
The Academic Index is a true meta-search tool that includes results from mega-information databases that index only research-quality reference and information sources selected by professional librarians, educators, and educational and library consortia.
AcademicInfo is an online education resource center with extensive subject guides and distance learning information. Our mission is to provide free, independent and accurate information and resources for prospective and current students (and other researchers).
Best Information on the Net
Directory of high quality web resources arranged by subject or major
Biology Online is the number one website for biology content and information on the web. The site aims to educate and promote awareness of all things biology, offering free and easy access to information in the biological sciences.
A web site designed for the specific needs of chemists, was created. Its mission consists in collecting and independently annotating all useful chemistry sites.
Chemistry Links from USC
An extensive list of Web-based chemistry resources compiled by faculty and staff of the chemistry Department at USC.
DMOZ - Open Directory Project
It is the largest, most comprehensive human-edited directory of the Web. It is constructed and maintained by a vast, global community of volunteer editors.
Searchable Internet directory created and maintained by a group of Internet Librarians. It is setup as searchable Internet directory.
When using the advanced search of the Encyclopedia Britannica, if you click on the �Web Sites� radio button, you will be searching and finding high quality web sites related to the topic of your search.
INFOMINE is a virtual library of Internet resources relevant to faculty, students, and research staff at the university level. It contains useful Internet resources such as databases, Online journals, electronic books, bulletin boards, mailing lists, online library card catalogs, articles, directories of researchers, and many other types of information.� Includes both free sties and sites that require pay or subscription fees.
Internet Public Library
The Internet Public Library is a public service organization and a learning/teaching environment founded at the University of Michigan School of Information and hosted by Drexel University's College of Information Science & Technology.� It is the first public library of and for the Internet community
Intute is a free online service providing you with a database of hand selected Web resources for education and research.
�Targeted Discovery.��� Through iView technology, you can dynamically and instantly target results that are relevant to you. iSEEK analyzes your search results each time you do a query, identifying themes, topics, and more and organizing your results for you. Rather than wading through a mini-web of thousands of results, one by one, in some indiscernible order, you are guided to a specific set of relevant results with iViews.
A targeted search engine compiling hundreds of thousands of authoritative resources from university, government, and established noncommercial providers!
Librarians' Internet Index (LII) is a publicly-funded website and weekly newsletter serving California, the nation, and the world. It features thousands of high-quality websites carefully selected, described, and organized
It is a huge collection of links to high quality reference resources including calculators, scientific tables, specialized and carefully selected websites and a variety of other reputable sources of information.� Look for the scientific area of greatest interest to you.� Chemistry, Bioscience and Health Sciences are very well represented in this selection of Internet sites
This is online edition of the new Resources for College Libraries created by ACRL's Choice and Bowker.� This resource identifies the books and some web sites that should be part of the core collection of a college library.� While this tool is primarily for use of librarians and faculty responsible for library collection development, students can use it to identify high quality websites appropriate for academic work.
Gateway to government science information and research results.
Science Crawler is the Leading Science Search Engine and Directory Online. It is one of numerous Search Engine Websites on The Crawler Network.
Virtual Learning Resources Center
The mission of the Virtual Learning Resources Center is to index thousands of the best academic information websites, selected by teachers and library professionals worldwide, in order to provide to students and teachers current, valid information for school and university academic projects!
FINDING HIGH QUALITY ARTICLES VIA FREE SCIENTIFIC DATABASES
ACM Digital Library
This is the database created by the Association for Computing Machinery and functions as a portal to their virtual library.� Researches can search this information gateway to retrieve the basic information for articles published or indexed by this association.
arXiv is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, quantitative biology and statistics. It provides open access to more about 600,000 e-prints in the areas listed above. This free resource is hosted and managed by Cornell University and partially funded by the National Science Foundation.
It is the online database of the National Library of Agriculture.� It allows for the searching of the holdings of the library and of the journals indexed by the government agency.� Searches retrieve full citations of the articles indexed.
It provides an integrated search engine to retrieve citations and full articles from close to 200 open access scientific journals.� All research articles in BioMed Central's journals receive rapid and thorough peer review.
British Library Direct
This resource allows the user to search the tables of contents of about 18,000 journals and retrieve the citations.� The user is then given the option of purchasing the relevant articles from the British Library.
CenterWatch is a Boston-based publishing and information services company and a business of Jobson Medical Information. Through this database they provide information services used by patients, pharmaceutical, biotechnology and medical device companies, CROs and research centers involved in clinical research around the world. This resource is designed to find information on clinical research, including listings of active industry and government-sponsored clinical trials, as well as new drug therapies in research and those recently approved by the FDA.
ChemBank is a public, web-based informatics environment created by the Broad Institute's Chemical Biology Program and funded in large part by the National Cancer Institute's Initiative for Chemical Genetics (ICG). This knowledge environment includes freely available data derived from small molecules and small-molecule screens, and resources for studying the data so that biological and medical insights can be gained. ChemBank is intended to guide chemists synthesizing novel compounds or libraries, to assist biologists searching for small molecules that perturb specific biological pathways, and to catalyze the process by which drug hunters discover new and effective medicines.� Registration is requested and encouraged, but it is possible to search this resource as a guest.
This is a free, web-based search system that provides access to structure and nomenclature authority files used for the identification of chemical substances cited in National Library of Medicine (NLM) databases, including the TOXNET� system. ChemIDplus also provides structure searching and direct links to many biomedical resources at NLM and on the Internet for chemicals of interest. The database contains over 380,000 chemical records, of which over 289,000 include chemical structures, and is searchable by Name, Synonym, CAS Registry Number, Molecular Formula, Classification Code, Locator Code, Structure, Toxicity, and/or Physical properties.
It is a resource that contains information on over 200,000 distinct chemical substances. CHEMINDEX is a handy way to link CAS registry numbers, chemical names and synonyms.
ChemWeb.com provides access to the information chemists need to enhance their research, product development, self-development, education, and/or their businesses in Chemistry and related disciplines. Easy access to abstracts, papers, journals, books, conferences news, forums and the Alchemist newsletter makes ChemWeb.com powerful and useful to our members.� Registering as a ChemWeb member will provide you with advanced features, including exclusive member content. Members are also able to post comments on a wide variety of site comment and to participate in discussion boards and special interest groups. Registration is free.
CISTI (Canada Institute for Scientific and technical Information)
National Research Council Canada Institute for Scientific and Technical Information (NRC-CISTI) is Canada's national science library and leading publisher of scientific information. We provide Canada's research and innovation community with tools and services for accelerated discovery, innovation and commercialization.� NRC-CISTI is mandated under the National Research Council Act to provide the National Research Council and other Canadian researchers with access to the world's scientific, technical and Medical information (STM). To fulfill this mandate NRC-CISTI maintains and provides access to its STM information resources, and publishes and disseminates the results of Canadian and international research.
ClinicalTrials.gov is a registry of federally and privately supported clinical trials conducted in the United States and around the world. ClinicalTrials.gov gives you information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details. This information should be used in conjunction with advice from health care professionals.
Dietary Supplements Labels Database
It offers information about ingredients in more than two thousand selected brands of dietary supplements. It enables users to determine what ingredients are in specific brands and to compare ingredients in different brands. Information is also provided on the health benefits claimed by manufacturers.
Directory of Open Access Journals
This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. We aim to cover all subjects and languages. There are now close to 4000 journals in the directory. Currently 1320 journals are searchable at article level.
It is considered one of the largest and most current Clinical Knowledge Base available to physicians and other healthcare professionals. It provides "open access comprehensive medical textbook for all clinical fields." Free, but registration is required.
Epocrates Online is a free, fast and effective way to find continually updated information on hundreds of drugs and diagnoses.� Unlike other online medical references, Epocrates Online organizes practical, peer-reviewed content with a unique patient-centered approach, providing you with answers, not more questions.� The access is free but requires registration,
Faculty of 1000 Biology and Medicine
Faculty of 1000 Biology and Medicine are authoritative online services in which over 4,500 leading researchers and clinicians share their expert opinions by highlighting and evaluating the most important articles in biology and medicine.
Genamics JournalSeek is the largest completely categorized database of freely available journal information available on the internet. The database contains close to 95,000 titles. Journal information includes the description (aims & scope), journal abbreviation, journal homepage link, subject category and ISSN. Searching this information allows the rapid identification of potential journals to publish your research in, as well as new journals of interest to your field.
It is a specialized search engine created by Google that provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
Provided by EBSCO, this is a freely accessible research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with well-researched but accessible information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. Comprised of scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports, GreenFILE offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the ecology.
This is a government Web site where designed to provide health information and tools to the general public.
HighWire Press is a division of the Stanford University Libraries, which produces the online versions of high-impact, peer-reviewed journals and other scholarly content.� Most articles are free.
HIV InSite is developed by the Center for HIV Information (CHI) at the University of California San Francisco (UCSF), one of the world's leading health sciences institutions. Within UCSF, HIV InSite is produced in collaboration with the San Francisco Veterans Affairs Medical Center and other components of the University's AIDS Research Institute.
IngentaConnect is a website that provides access to scholarly journals from a range of different publishers.� It has a database containing information about millions of articles, and about thousands of chapters of books and reports.� While the searching and the viewing of the basic data about the articles is free, access to full text is available by pay-per-view or by subscription to individual publications.�
MedlinePlus brings together authoritative information from NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations. Preformulated MEDLINE searches are included in MedlinePlus and give easy access to medical journal articles. MedlinePlus also has extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient tutorials, and latest health news.
Medscape is a part of WebMD Health Professional Network that includes theHeart.org and eMedicine.com. Medscape offers specialists, primary care physicians, and other health professionals the Web's most robust and integrated medical information and educational tools. After a simple, 1-time, free registration, Medscape automatically delivers you the specialty site that best fits your profile. You can also change your Medscape homepage to any of our other specialty and profession sites at any time.
MSDS, Material Safety Data Sheets
Produced by The Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety, MSDS is a full text database containing over 70,000 Material Safety Data Sheets for chemical products sold or manufactured in North America.
Allows the researcher to use the search box in the main page or the advanced search to locate relevant articles in scientific journals published by the Nature Publishing Group.� The user can retrieve the full citations and abstracts.� However, the full-text of the articles can be purchased individually.
National Environmental Publications Internet Site (NEPIS)
This site is EPA�s premier site for accessing EPA publications, with more than 7,000 in stock and 28,000 digital titles, free of charge!
National Science Digital Library
The National Science Digital Library (NSDL) was created by the National Science Foundation to provide organized access to high quality resources and tools that support innovations in teaching and learning at all levels of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) education.� The searches are free and provide access to a variety of formats beyond text including video, audio, multi-media, interactive web resources, images and data.
Search the via the U.S. Patent & Trademark Office (USPTO) online database.� The records go from 1790 to the present.
PDQ (Physician Data Query) is NCI's comprehensive cancer database. It contains peer-reviewed summaries on cancer treatment, screening, prevention, genetics, and supportive care, and complementary and alternative medicine; a registry of more than 6,000 open and 17,000 closed cancer clinical trials from around the world; and a directory of professionals who provide genetics services.
Public Library of Science (PLoS)
This is a virtual library and a nonprofit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a freely available public resource.
Royal Society of Chemistry
This database allows searching of articles from more than 20 Online journals in chemistry published by RSC and other publishers.
Science Accelerator searches science, including R&D results, project descriptions, accomplishments, and more, via resources made available by the Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI), U.S. Department of Energy.
ScienceDirect is the world's largest electronic collection of science, technology, and medicine full-text and bibliographic information. It offers a wide variety of features and content.� It provides free access to abstracts and bibliographic records.� Full-text requires purchasing or a subscription fee.
Scirus is the most comprehensive science-specific search engine on the Internet. Driven by the latest search engine technology, Scirus searches over 480 million science-specific Web pages.
It is a database provided by the American Institute of Physics.� It covers not just physics, but technology and science in general.� It includes more than 600,000 journal articles, conference proceedings, magazines, standards, and online portal sites.� Scitation includes links to many rich sources of information, including ISI's Web of Science, MEDLINE, Chemport/Chemical Abstracts Service, SPIN database, INSPEC, EDP Sciences, X-ArkiV, SLAC-SPIRES, and other Scitation journals, among others.
Scitopia.org is the free federated search portal to the digital libraries of leading science and technology societies. It searches over 3.5 million documents, plus patents, government data and materials produced by 21 learned societies.
SpringerLink is an integrated full-text database for journals and books published by Springer. SpringerLink currently offers over 1,250 fully peer-reviewed journals and more than 10,000 books online.� The basic information about the articles, documents or book chapters is available free of charge and the full-text documents can be purchased individually.
Provides access to over 3 million articles across 1400 journals. This massive archive, combined with some 6000 online books and major reference works�plus industry leading databases such as The Cochrane Library, and the acclaimed Current Protocols laboratory manuals�make Wiley InterScience one of the world's premiere resources for advanced research.
WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and services. WorldCat libraries are dedicated to providing access to their resources on the Web, where most people start their search for information.� Through this resource, you can locate books, CDs, videos, journal titles and other types of materials.� You also find out which libraries have the items you want and how far these libraries are from where you live.
WorldWideScience.org is a global science gateway connecting you to national and international scientific databases and portals. WorldWideScience.org is maintained by the U.S. Department of Energy's Office of Scientific and Technical Information as the Operating Agent for the WorldWideScience Alliance.� Users get the most current findings in fields such as energy, medicine, agriculture, environment, and basic sciences, published by contributing nations.
FINDING HIGH QUALITY INFORMATION VIA THE NATIONAL CENTER FOR BIOTECHNOLOGY INFORMATION (NCBI) AND THE NATIONAL LIBRARY OF MEDICINE (NLM)
The National Institutes of Health, which are a part of the US Department of Health and Human Services, includes two linked entities that create, maintain, develop and provide access to dozens of high quality scientific databases.� These two entities are the National Library of Medicine and
National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI).
A graphical representation of this collection of biomedical databases and their interconnections can be seen at http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/About/tools/index.html
A text-based overview and sitemap of the NLM and NCBI databases with links to each one of them is available at http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/Sitemap/index.html
A list of resources by category and an alphabetical index to all the databases is available via the NCBI Resource Guide� @ http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/About/tools/index.html
A broad outline of databases and tools available is provided, via the Databases and Tools page @
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/About/tools/index.html���� Here, you can click on every major category and find a list of relevant sources.
An introduction NBCI and an overview of the functions, services and resources provided by this entity is available at http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/
For those who want to search across multiple databases, the best point of entry is Entrez, the Life Sciences Search Engine:
This is a search and retrieval system that integrates information from databases at NCBI. These databases include nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, macromolecular structures, whole genomes, and MEDLINE, through PubMed.
For those who want to find published articles in the area of biomedical sciences a good starting point is PubMed.
PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 18 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to 1948. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources.
As an example of a specialized database of interest to chemistry and biology students, PubChem can be mentioned. �
����������� PubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules.
Finally, books in electronic format and freely available can be found via the NBCI Bookshelf @
Last updated on Feb. 5, 2009